About Us


The Labour Commissioner Organization administers and enforces 33 labour laws (24 are Central legislations and 09 State legislations) to ensure, mainly, provisions relating to social justice and economic inter-dependency, improvement in working conditions, social security, and protection against harassment and exploitation of working children, women and men employed in organized sector. Labour department ensures quick disposal of industrial disputes through its conciliation machinery with a view to establish harmonious industrial relations amongst the employers and employees, so that along with growth in industrial production, the interests of workmen are also protected. The department periodically fixes the minimum wages and ensures their due and timely payment to the workmen. The labour laws are consistent with fundamental rights of citizen, the directive principles of Indian Constitution, and at international level, with standards laid down by International Labour Organisation through various conventions and recommendations.


Labour Commissioner Organization was established in 1936. Along with executive functions through its administrative set up, following wings are also established in the Organisation to enforce various labour laws and timely intervention in industrial disputes:

  • Enforcement and Conciliation;

  • Directorate of Factories; and

  • Directorate of Boilers.

Currently 22 different sections are functioning at the headquarter under control of the Labour Commissioner, who is assisted by the following officers :


Additional Labour Commissioner (IAS/PCS) 02
Finance Controller 01
Additional Labour Commissioner 03
Director of Factories 01
Director of Boilers 01
Deputy Labour Commissioner 06
Deputy Director of Factories 01
Deputy Director of Boilers 03
Assistant Director of Boilers 05
Medical Superintendent (Ayurved) 01
Assistant Labour Commissioner 01
Finance and Accounts Officer 01
Time Study Officer 01
Publicity Officer 01
Assistant Accounts Officer 02
Labour Enforcement Officer/ Assistant Trade Union Inspector 15
Total 45


Following Regional and Sub-Regional offices, widely spread over 70districts of the state, have been active in Labour Commissioner Organization to effectively ensure enforcement of labour laws and to maintain industrial peace:

 Additional Labour Commissioner (Ghaziabad, Kanpur, Varanasi)



Deputy Labour Commissioner Lucknow, Faizabad, Gorakhpur, Allahabad, Pipari, Jhansi, Bareilly, Meerut, Saharanpur, Aligarh, Moradabad, Azamgarh, Gautambudh Nagar & Agra)



Assistant Labour Commissioner



Labour Enforcement Officer



Deputy Director of Factories



Assistant Director of Factories



Housing Inspector/Assistant Housing Inspector